#AceOfShades Book Tag (#Scars Remix)

Let’s get our hands dirty.

Bri over at cafeaulaitbooks (who is, unfortunately, a Dove) just posted an amazing Ace of Shades themed book tag, and I’m super excited to participate. I did edit one of the questions to be more Scars-specific. The Doves can’t be the only ones who get shown some love, after all.

So, technically, welcome to the Ace of Shades book tag, Scarhands edition!

Read to the end for some cheeky bonus content!

div

1. Ace of Shades takes place in the very mysterious, very dangerous City of Sin. Name a fictional city with a personality of its own!

Though it’s way more than a city, I’m practically committing a sin if I don’t mention Wonderland every time the topic of fictional places comes up. I’m a born and raised Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland nerd. Heartless was also a great take on the classic Wonderland, even though Marissa Meyer tore my heart out and ripped it to shreds in the process. The Grand Teatro and the surrounding area from The Midnight Dance is also a fav because I’m weak for dimly lit, fog covered settings.

2. The City of Sin is home to three ruthless gangs: the Irons, the Scarhands, and the Doves. Tell us about your favorite fictional criminal family/gang!

My favorite fictional gang? I don’t have one of those. (Obviously the Scarhands. But the Irons are a close backup because of their hot leader.)

3. Enne and Levi are about to be thrown into a deadly game… Name your favorite book in which the characters must play with, and for, their lives.

I really fell for The Bakersville Dozen! One of Us is Lying was also really good, although the stakes weren’t exactly life or death. Most thriller/mysteries have some aspect of “solve this or you’ll be next”, and I’m a sucker for a good murder mystery.

4. Aside from their infamous smuggling skills, the Scarhands also deal information… What’s one book you’re an expert on?

I can (and will, given half the chance) talk about The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon for hours on end. I could write soliloquies on it. It is one of the books that has stuck with me throughout my entire life and that I feel truly changed me as a reader.  (It’s no surprise that it’s a horror book. I’m trash.)

5. The City of Sin is full of people with dark and complicated pasts. Name one book or book series you used to like, but don’t anymore.

I was really (really, really) into the Fallen series when I was younger– it was actually my introduction to YA romance since I didn’t hop on the Twilight train for a few years. Thinking back on it now, I know that I can’t overlook its faults as a series, but it still introduced me to my love of broody rebellious bad boy types. (I was super big on Cam back in the day).

6. With complicated pasts abound, we can find many… burnt cinnamon rolls, so to speak. Name a character that has prickly and tough exterior, but is actually a sweetheart deep down!

You mean every single character I’ve ever loved in my entire life? That would be too long of a list. Here’s a hint, though: if they fall into this category, I probably love them. Is that a cop-out answer? Yes. Am I moving on? Yes.

7. Not only anti-heroes live in the Ace of Shades world! In New Reynes, one can find plenty of villains as well. Which bookish character do you just love to hate?

I don’t have an answer for this, book-wise! I’m weak for anti-heroes, but villians have to jump through a lot of hoops to get me to like them. I’m not a goody-two-shoes, but it takes a whole lot for me to feel anything but frustration for a character who justifies like, cursing a baby with eternal slumber just because they weren’t invited to a party. (I got my eyes on you, Maleficent.)

8. You, much like our main character Enne’s mother, went missing in the City of Sin. The main character from the last book you read is the one looking for you… How screwed are you?

I’m in the clear, considering the last book I read was The Hate U Give (late to the party, I know). Starr will have my back for sure.

And there’s the tag!

div

I hoped you enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed filling it out. For more Ace of Shades related fun, be sure to check out the twitter accounts for each groups here: Scars, Irons, Doves.

Also maybe you should take a sneaky peek at Amanda Foody’s blog? The first chapter of AoS may or may not be available to read there. (It totally is. Link here).

And! If you like what you see, add Ace of Shades to your Goodreads list, and consider pre-ordering! There are so many cool gifts, you cannot believe.

Oh! Almost forgot the promised bonus content. Scroll down a little bit further for Enne, a themed playlist based on the kickass female MC of AoS! Plus! A preview of the tracklist for Levi, my definitely Not problematic fav.

div

ENNE – listen here

LEVI– coming soon

2 thoughts on “#AceOfShades Book Tag (#Scars Remix)

Leave a comment